Champions for Families Awards Dinner 2014

Champions For Families Awards Dinner Sets Record

El Nido’s Eighth Annual Champions for Families Awards Dinner was held October 16th at the Skirball Cultural Center in Los Angeles.  The event was attended by almost 400 guests, and we raised more than any event in our history.  The evening included heartfelt tributes, a photography exhibit and dramatic readings by our youth, plus popular raffle prizes and a silent auction.

This year, we were pleased to honor El Nido’s own, not just for their long and dedicated service to our agency, but for their distinction in bettering the broader community as well.

Former Board of Directors president and philanthropist Jay de Miranda received our Lifetime Achievement Award.

Our Community Impact Award was bestowed on Carole Keen, longtime former El Nido board member from the City of Carson.

The Champions Award was presented to El Nido Alumni Association founding members Xiomara Peña, Zuly Quezada and Joe Celguera, for serving as exceptional role models, and their volunteer service that helps so many.

Actress and acting coach Belita Moreno returned as M.C. of the event, and to coach our youth with their dramatic readings.

We thank each of our generous sponsors and appreciate their support of our work:

Growth  Sponsors:  Susie & Stuart Berton, Gibson Dunn, Kaiser Permanente, Rose Norton & Phil Savenick, and Valley Presbyterian Hospital.

Trust Sponsors:  Scott Matula-Beltch & Rob Beltch, Grifols, Healthnet, and  Hugo’s Restaurants.

Hope Sponsors:  Bill Canup, Linda & John Coleman, Crystal Property Management, and Jeff & Virginia Thomas.

It was an enchanted evening with old friends, new supporters, delicious food and fun for all of our guests.

Event Chair:

Scott Matula-Beltch

Event Committee:

Aurora Almario, Stuart Berton, Bill Canup, Joe Celguera, Richard Chou, Kim Dabbadie, Theresa Dawes, Lilia Devora, Elaine Doran, Richard Doran, Bradford Henderson, Gessille Jensen, Sonia Jensen, Emily Kaplan, Nan Lee, Diana Le Lien, Gail Marshall, JP Marshall, Yesim Merter, Fred Samulon, Adriana Sandoval, Bernard Tan, Jeff Thomas, Virginia Thomas, Steve Williams, May Yu

Read more about our 2013 Champions for Families Awards Dinner

1 Response